top of page

1/29 #IMWAYR


Sometimes you read two books at once, and it's like they were always meant to be read together. That's what I experienced as I finished Ready Player One and Crime and Punishment last week...but more on that crazy experience later (see how I threw in a teaser for an upcoming blog?)

This week, I'm excited to be returning to the Utopian world Neal Shuterman created in his latest series, Scythe. In the second installment, Thunderhead, we continue to follow Rowan an Citra as they fully enter into the Scythedom and are introduced to a cast of new characters including the Thunderhead itself as it shares it's thoughts and observations with the reader throughout the story. I have no idea where Shusterman is going to take his characters next, but I can't wait to find out!

I'm diving head-first back into fantasy (I had to take a little hiatus after finishing Sarah Maas' Tower of Dawn.) I'm ploughing (more like dredging) through Kiersten White's And I Darken, one of this year's Battle of the Books picks. I'm not alone in feeling like it's very difficult to access this world in my imagination, even though the main character's father is none other than the historical inspiration for Count Dracula, Vlad Dracul. I really want to love this book. Really, really--historical fantasy is my ultimate genre of choice. This particular region and time period of the world is so foreign to me, and the names of people and places so difficult to pronounce (really, lots and lots of consonats and gutteral blends), that my internal ear is lost in the cacophony. But then there are lines like this:

And, I'm back again...I do love Lada and even her mewling younger brother Radu. This might become an audiobook read for me.

Finally, on my nightstand at home is Counting by 7s--the number one most recommended book to me by readers coming through the library. I know it as "the one with the fish and 7s, like the number, not the word." I don't even know what it's about, but when you constantly get that "look" from readers when they turn it in, you know you've got to pick it up.

Well, that will be it over the next couple of weeks...And so I'd like to know from you, It's Monday! What are you reading?


bottom of page